main menu button

Coboconk and District Lions

Citizen of the Year 



Each Year the Coboconk and District Lions Club awards Citizen of the Year to an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the Community. The current recipient Barbara Chynoweth meets those criteria and more.


Barbara retired eight years ago from Intact Insurance Co.  began working as an active community volunteer where she has made a significant contribution.


  • President of The Norland Senior Citizens Club for the past three years.
  • Served 11 years on the organizing Committee of the Norland Summer Festival and assumed the Chair in 2017.
  • Chair of the Board of Hope United Church in Norland and is the Presbyterian representative for Kawartha Highlands.
  • Secretary- Treasurer of The Norland Community Centre Management Board.
  • Secretary of the Norland United Church Women and is regularly involved in Fund Raising Events for them.
  • President of the Victoria East Women's Institute and Treasurer of the local Branch.
  • Program Coordinator of The Norland Leather Craft Guild and Editor for The Canadian Leather Craft Publication.
  • An avid local historian she is involved with The Haliburton Highlands Genealogy Society and Sheddon Historical Society and regularly speaks and provides displays on local history.


Committee Chair, Lion Murray Walker presented the award to Barbara at the Coboconk and District Lions Club annual spaghetti dinner/silent auction.


Previous Coboconk Lions Club Citizens of the Year


2003  Annie Robertson 2004 Bill Jay 2005 Coboconk Horticulture
2006 Veron LeCraw 2007 Gloria Cousins 2008 Wanda Liscombe
2009 Tom and Donna Barbour 2010 Pauline Barber 2011 Ross Fogwell
2012 Paul and Marie South 2013  Max Greer and Lloyd Faulkner 2014 Barbara Curry
2015 Jane Andrew 2016 Niki Tichakova 2018 Barb Chynoweth
2019 Jamie Burton and Margy Taylor